Colonial Spirits by Steven Grasse. Published by Abrams

Grasse has fun looking at America’s drinking roots as takes readers back to a time when it was a whole lot better for your health to drink booze than it was to drink the (contaminated) water. From beer, cider, wine, all the assorted hard liquor and a few things you probably never heard of, the book is sprinkled with drunken sayings of our earliest presidents and congressmen and 50 cocktail recipes representing our early days as a nation of drunkards. Folk art type illustrations enliven the already pretty lively text. For readers of Amy Stewart

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s