Mr. Rochester by Sarah Shoemaker. Published by Grand Central

It takes a lot of gut to take on the voice of one of the most beloved characters in one of the most beloved books of all time. Jane Eyre remains one of my favorite books of all time, one of the few that I will actually re-read, so it was with some trepidation that I read this book. Shoemaker does a good job of capturing Rochester’s voice and explaining his early years, his horrible father and his ensuing years of debauchery and the eventual marriage to the woman who would become the mad woman in the attic. I had a hard time with Rochester’s view of Jane, but that may just be because I am so used to seeing this story from another perspective. All in all this is a credible and enjoyable follow-up to Jane Eyre and one I actually do plan to re-read after I let it sink in a little. I would encourage readers of the original book to take a chance on this story, I think they will be pleasantly surprised

Leave a Reply

