Hill Women by Cassie Chambers. Published by Ballantine

Chambers recounts her childhood in one of Kentucky (and the country’s) poorest regions. Her life is shaped by her grandmother, a child bride who bore seven children and her aunt Wilma, while her mother worked hard to finish both high school and college. Chambers own journey through college and ultimately Harvard Law School was made possible by the strong and determined women who raised her. A remarkable memoir for fans of Educated and Half Broke Horses

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s